Skip to main content

Beginning of the first nuns’ community in Vietnam

The first nuns in VT and Fr. Hung
33/2019 – 04 – 06

In the city of Vung Tau, in Vietnam, near the diocesan shrine dedicated to the Mother of God, a group of six consecrated women, who followed the Rule and spirituality of Carmel came together. They asked to become members of the Carmelite Order as nuns and went, in 2013, to the monastery of Burgos, in the Philippines, to receive formation. On May 1, in Vung Tau, four of them, Sr. M. Andrew, Sr Rose Mary, Sr. M. Therese, Sr. M. Angel made their solemn profession in the hands of Sr. M. Elena Tolentino, Prioress of Burgos, while two others are completing their formation in the Philippines. Together with the four Vietnamese, Sr. Leonora, a Filipina, joined in initiating this new foundation. The solemn profession took place in a great festive atmosphere. The celebration was led by the Bishop of Vung Tau, accompanied by the General Delegate, Fr. Mario Alfarano, by the Provincial of New York, Fr. Mario Esposito, the Provincial Commissary of Vietnam, Fr. Hung Tran, and numerous Carmelite, diocesan and religious priests. The Carmelite students led the singing in the liturgy. The participants included nuns from Burgos, numerous local religious and many faithful.


Receive newsletter (CITOC Online) in your mail box

Subscribe CITOC Online

* Required

List Information:

CITOC Online is the e-Newsletter published by the Order of Carmelites. Submitted news, information, feature, articles, letters, photos, and other materials become the property of the Citoc Online

Privacy Policy:

  • Your email address will never be shared with any 3rd parties and you will receive only the type of content for which you signed up.
  • CITOC Online can be shared among friends, family and relatives for religious purpose without changing its content.




As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister."