Skip to main content

Province of Malta

This Province, situated on the island of Malta (mentioned in the Acts of the Apostles 28, 1), was erected on May 7, 1892. Previously, the Maltese foundations formed part of the Sicilian Province of St. Angelus, and when the English took over the island they became an independent vicariate.

The Carmelites arrived in Malta in 1418, when the noblewoman, Margaret d'Aragon, deeded the chapel and surrounding land of Lunzjata

(Rabat) to any religious Order that would undertake the incumbent religious duties. The Carmelites accepted the offer. Subsequently, they opened priories in Valletta (1570), Vittoriosa (1582-1652), Mdina (1659), Balluta - Sliema (1892), Santa Venera (2 houses: 1913 and 1980), Fgura (1945) and Fleur-de-lys (1947). In 1944 a secondary school, later named Saint Elias College, was inaugurated. To it the Province owes many vocations and men of learning and virtue. In 1949, the Province, answering the Prior General's call, opted to send missionaries to work in Africa, but at the Prior General's insistence, instead sent men to Peru in 1949 and to Bolivia in 1956. In 1987 the Province assumed the care of the church and convent of Milazzo in Sicily (Italy). In 1990 the Carmelites restored Lunzjata (Rabat), establishing there a House of Prayer and Retreat Centre

Among its members the Province numbered two bishops: Mgr. Francis Raiti, bishop of Trapani, Sicily, and Mgr. Redemptus Gauci, bishop of Chuquibamba, Peru.

At present the Province of Malta has about 60 religious working in Malta, Bolivia, Italy, United Staes and Peru.


For further information: Province of Malta


Provincial Office:

Kunvent tal-Karmnu
Triq it-Torri
Tel. 21330198 / 21337573
Uffiċċju tal-Provincjal
Tel. 21315834
Uffiċċju Assistent-Segretarju Prov
Tel. 21315832


As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister."