Skip to main content

Italy/Malta Region


Following initial discussions during the Council of Provinces at San Felice del Benaco, Italy, in September 2009, the provincials of the Italian, Neapolitan, and Maltese Provinces together with the Commissary General of "La Bruna" held two subsequent meetings with the Councillor General for Europe, Fr. John Keating, O.Carm. one at Sassone (10th September 2010) and the second at Carmine Maggiore, Naples (31st January 2011).

As a result of these discussions, they decided to resurrect the Italy/Malta Region, which was first established in 1984. They also drew up new statutes in conformity with the 1995 Constitutions. Fr. Michael Farrugia, O.Carm. was elected President of the Region for the next two years. The General Council approved the new statutes during its February meeting. In the geographical area of Europe there are now three regions, Iberia, Northern Europe and Italy/Malta. The General Delegation in France has already decided to join the Northern European Region.

Receive newsletter (CITOC Online) in your mail box

Subscribe CITOC Online

* Required

List Information:

CITOC Online is the e-Newsletter published by the Order of Carmelites. Submitted news, information, feature, articles, letters, photos, and other materials become the property of the Citoc Online

Privacy Policy:

  • Your email address will never be shared with any 3rd parties and you will receive only the type of content for which you signed up.
  • CITOC Online can be shared among friends, family and relatives for religious purpose without changing its content.



As Carmelites We live our life of allegiance to Jesus Christ and to serve Him faithfully with a pure heart and a clear conscience through a commitment to seek the face of the living God (the contemplative dimension of life), through prayer, through fraternity, and through service (diakonia). These three fundamental elements of the charism are not distinct and unrelated values, but closely interwoven. 

All of these we live under the protection, inspiration and guidance of Mary, Our Lady of Mount Carmel, whom we honor as "our Mother and sister."